COPRI's committees offer the opportunity for professionals to help define the standards, direction, and focus of the profession. Technical developments in research and practice in the coastal, ocean, port, and riverine communities are disseminated to the membership through committee sponsored conferences, workshops, and publications. Join a committee to begin taking an active role in developing key technical, professional, and educational issues in your discipline. Please e-mail the committee chair for information on how to join.

In October 2003, the COPRI Committee Chairs met with the COPRI Governing Board in Gainesville, FL. Pictured here are: (back row from the left) Gordon Sterling, Mark Lindgren, Tony Dalrymple, Stan White, Tom Christensen, Lesley Ewing; (front row from the left) Charles Calhoun, Jim Dailey, Don Hayes, Bob Dean, Mike Hemsley, Orville Magoon.

Here are just a few of the many exciting things going on with COPRI's active committees and subcommittees. For more information on the COPRI committees and subcommittees pleaseplease contact the committee chair listed below or the COPRI staff at or at (703) 295-6370. COPRI'S 16 Committees provide our members the opportunity to enhance their professional and technical development by working on a variety of products and services with other skilled professionals.

  • The Council of Committee Chairs met with the Board of Governors on May 22, 2006 in College Station, TX. This meeting provided committee chairs the opportunity to meet face-to-face with the Board to discuss upcoming projects and issues facing their committee. The group welcomed new committee chairs to both the Coastal Structures Committee and to the Coastal Zone Management Committee. COPRI Treasurer Tom Christensen, P.E. was recognized for his four years of service to the COPRI Board of Governors, Tom will conclude his term in September.

  • President Billy Edge, Ph.D., P.E. (R) recognizes Tom Christensen, P.E. (L) for his work as Treasurer of COPRI

  • The ASCE/COPRI Seismic Design of Piers & Wharves Standards Committee will meet on June 23, 2006, at the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey in Newark, New Jersey. The meeting will be held from 8:30 a.m. ? 5:00 p.m. In addition to administrative items, topics on the agenda include updates from the following task committees: International Codes, Design Approach, Performance Requirements / Risk Criteria, Analysis Methods, Design Considerations, Non-Structural Elements and Geotechnical Issues. For more information on the meeting or the committee, contact Committee Chair Gayle Johnson, P.E., at

  • The Ocean and Offshore Engineering Committee met at the U.S. Naval Academy on May 17, 2006. The group discussed future actions of the committee as well as took a tour of the Naval Academies facilities, including their two wave machines. For more information on the committee or to become an active member please contact committee chair Patrick Hudson at

  • Members of the Ocean & Offshore Engineering Committee tour the labs at the U.S. Naval Academy

  • The Ports and Harbor Committee met at the Port of Tacoma on March 23, 2006. The subcommittees met on Thursday with the main committee meeting on Friday, followed by a tour of the port.

  • Members of the Ports & Harbors Committee on a tour of the Port of Tacoma

  • The Waterways Committee met on June 8, 2006 in Pittsburgh at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers district office. The group also saw a presentation by the Corps on their work at the Emsworth Lock and Dam on the Ohio River. For more information on the committee or to become an active member please contact committee chair Nick Pansic, P.E. at

    Technical Committees

  • Ports and Harbors 
  • Stanley M. White, (203)-268-5007,
  • Coastal Engineering Practice 
  • Susan Ming, (213) 452-3825,
  • Coastal Structures
  • Billy L. Edge, (979)847-8712,
    Orville T. Magoon, (707)987-2385 Ext.207
  • Coastal Zone Management 
  • Heather Schlosser, (213) 452-3810,
    Lesley Ewing, (415)904-5291,
  • Military Programs Technical Committee
  • James N. Marino, 407-562-7500,
  • Waterways 
  • Nicholas Pansic
  • Wetlands and Sediment Management 
  • Dominic Izzo, P.E., (713) 267-2872,

    Administrative Committees

  • Awards 
  • James E. Spady,
  • Coastal Engineering Research Council 
  • Robert A. Dalrymple,;
    Jane McKee Smith, (601) 634-2079,
  • Journal and Publications 
  • Vijay Panchang, Ph.D.,
  • Moffatt & Nichol Panel of Judges 
  • Billy L. Edge, (979) 847-8712,;
    William F. Baird,;
    Marcus Stearns,
  • Membership 
  • Bradd Schwitchenberger,
  • Newsletter
  • Kelly J. Barnes, COPRI Program Director,703-295-6027,
  • Policy Committee
  • Charles Calhoun,
  • Ocean and Offshore Engineering
  • Patrick J. Hudson, (443) 778-4152,